2012 State Trooper of the Year Award Given Out


JACKSON, Miss.–The 2012 Trooper of the Year award was given out Monday in Jackson.

There were nine nominees, one from each troop in the state, for the award.

Trooper First Class Kervin Stewart won the overall award from Troop C out of Pearl, Miss.

“As far as the overall award I’m just doubly thankful to be recognized for my actions,” he said.

He was specifically pointed out for his bravery in a fiery wreck just over state lines in Alabama where he pulled a gentlemen from a burning vehicle and put out the fire on the man’s body.

When he was asked why he wanted to become a trooper he said it was simple.

“Recognition and the respect that not only I have for the public but that the public has for the highway patrol,” said Stewart who now lives in Vicksburg.

The North Jackson Exchange Club hosted the banquet which is the 32nd time the award has been handed out.

Most Popular

News Mississippi is a state-wide news network airing hourly reports on more than 60 stations in the Magnolia State. We break the big stories that affect you.

Copyright © 2016 News Mississippi | TeleSouth Communications, Inc.

To Top