News Mississippi


Three High Schools Merge Under One Roof

HOLMES COUNTY, Miss.- Three high schools will join together in the same building by August 1.

Students and teachers at J.J. McClain, S.V. Marshall and Williams Sullivan high schools will merge into one school for what the Holmes County School District believes is a good move for the students.

Holmes County School District Superintendent Powell Rucker told News Mississippi the reason they’re doing the merger is because, “It will benefit the students academically so that we can offer courses that our students need to be competitive. Right now we’re unable to provide the instruction at all three high schools. We can afford to do it at one by combining our resources. Our resources are limited.”

The school board said the merger will provide a better curriculum for the students and they’ll be more prepared for college.

Rucker said no teachers will lose their job as a result of the merger.

Most Popular

News Mississippi is a state-wide news network airing hourly reports on more than 60 stations in the Magnolia State. We break the big stories that affect you.

Copyright © 2016 News Mississippi | TeleSouth Communications, Inc.

To Top